top of page

The Death of the Death, 2023

Video/ video installation

The work exists in two formats, a three screen installation with the duration of ten minutes as well as a single channel video with the duration of six minutes.


The work presents a fictional alternate reality where a cure for death has been invented, allowing humans to become immortal. This supposedly utopian idea has turned the society presented in the work into a dystopia. The work presents a hypothesis of what would happen if humans became immortal. The theory argues that with the death of death we would lose our ability to feel, since our feelings are structured around the temporality of our lives. The work aims to show that feelings are not something universal, but a specific quality of our life on earth.

The work is divided between scenes from the alternate reality in which people have become immortal and scenes from the past life in which people were still mortal or, rather, life as we know it now. Only two scenes from the alternate reality appear in the work: the opening scene and the final scene. The rest of the scenes consist of moments from "past" life. These scenes show moments of everyday life, such as daily chores, meetings with friends, intimate and vulnerable moments, activities such as dancing, skating, singing, playing instruments, painting, writing, among others.


The work defends the idea of the necessity of death. The awareness of death allows us to appreciate the time we have on earth. It allows us to live more fully and, at the same time, helps us to measure the intensity of our emotions, as it puts into perspective what is important and what is not. 


Conversion to immortality would break the natural cycle of our life. However, it is debatable whether overcoming death is unnatural or whether it is the next natural progression of the human species.

Eighty people have participated in the project until now.


Ana Lacruz, Melisa Vezhdieva, Aitana Martínez Groves-Raines, Ignacio Torres Toledo, Joce Nuñez Baeza, Elena Giannadaki, Nerea Sanz Ruiz, Fran García Gómez, Miriam Andrea Saraccini Ramírez, Anita Cao Liu, Marta Adamska, Michał Adamski, Maarten D’Olislager, Rossella D'Alterio, Jimena Peña Uribe, Emma Harbison, Anastasia Onikiienko, Encarna Albert Bosch, Victoria Martínez García, Natalia Cobo Alcolado, Alejandra Orozco Falconi, Partick Alonso, Czesław Otulakowski, Barbara Kudzielko, Carlos Martínez Cano, Pablo Sánchez Cuevas, Tatiana Ostafi, Andreea Catalina Marcu, Hazel O’Farrell, Maisie Grace Hourihane, Lucía Muñoz García, Eugenia Płociniczak, Jaime Vielman, Juan Amesty, Andrés Castro, Alessandro Calvanese, Bernadeta Adamczak, Leszek Adamczak, Mina Nogueira Álvarez, Nerea Meneses Aguilar, Renata Peraza González, Lucas Martín Velasco Faraci, María Ortuño Sala, Maria Abagnale, Tiziana Tedesco, Malena Requejo Rastell, Pilar González Beltrán, Alfredo Gómez, Elm Solà Casaprima, Manuela Martín Figueroa, Andrés Felipe Quevedo Vidal, Manuel Walter, Jorge Jiménez Pulpón, Chen Fangyao, Hao Xinhuan, Santi de la Fuente, Fatima Sofía Arriola Vielman, Jan Płociniczak, Maria Stachowiak, Andrea Cobo Alcolado, IRA, Dominika Dośka Dłubak, Gonzalo Buendía, Santiago Monroy, Mar Cortés, Haizea Cabañes, Janina Adamczak, Stanisława Zjeżdżałka, Milo Cummins, Ciara mcGuirk, Jessica Duque, Silvia Herrero, Julián Rodríguez Ladino, Carolina Arévalo Castro,Camila Velasco Restrepo, Georgina Venegas, Santiago Castro Pulido, Ciarán O’Keeffe, Andrea Maleni, Orla Mairéad.

bottom of page